Apple Radio Promotion

George Harrison: Brainwashed

Dark Horse Records has released George Harrison's first album of new material since the late '80s, "Brainwashed."

Producer Jeff Lynne says most of the pre-production on "Brainwashed" was done by George and his son Dhani. Lynne was called into the project later, with the stipulation that the songs weren't highly produced.

"George constantly talked about how he wanted the album to sound," Lynne says, "and there was always that spiritual energy that went into the lyrics as well as the music." George had been sharing his new songs with Lynne throughout the process. "George would come around my house and he'd always have a new song with him ... the songs just knocked me out."

"Brainwashed" includes 11 original Harrison songs as well as a cover of the Count Basie standard "Between the Devil & The Deep Blue Sea." "Brainwashed" features musical contributions by drummer Ray Cooper, keyboardists Mike Moran and Marc Mann, harpist Jane Lister, and pianist John Lord. Jim Capaldi and Jim Keltner laid down most of the rhythm tracks. Jim Kelter provides drums and George, his son Dhani and Jeff Lynne provide most of the instrumentation. "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea" features pianist Jools Holland, guitarist Joe Brown and bassist/tuba player Herbie Flowers.

The title cut, "Brainwashed," is a scathing swipe at George's former manager.

"I need to get that last song out of my system," George told the late Billboard editor-in-chief Timothy White in 1999. "To have someone sit at your table with your family every night and then betray your trust is one of the worst experiences imaginable. Sometimes songwriting is the only way I can respond to the outside world, to exorcise its demons."

The first single from the album to be shipped to U.S. radio outlets was "Stuck Inside a Cloud."

Here is the complete track listing for "Brainwashed" -

  1. "Any Road"
  2. "P2 Vatican Blues (Last Saturday Night)"
  3. "Pisces Fish"
  4. "Looking for My Life"
  5. "Rising Sun"
  6. "Marwa Blues"
  7. "Stuck Inside a Cloud"
  8. "Run So Far"
  9. "Never Get Over You"
  10. "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea"
  11. "Rocking Chair in Hawaii"
  12. "Brainwashed"